2019 Winner of the Outstanding Achievement Award, Victoria Ayodeji

The Student Social Mobility Awards are organised by upReach to showcase the incredible achievements of undergraduates from lower socio-economic backgrounds from across the UK. The awards are to recognise students who have excelled in their studies and beyond, and shown great potential to excel as they launch their careers. Our focus is on students who have demonstrated great resilience, determination or initiative, or boosted their employability in innovative ways. We aim to showcase up-and-coming talent and identify those rising stars to watch in the years to come.

There are also awards for a student, mentor, employer and university initiative that have championed social mobility and enabled others to succeed. In 2019, there are new awards for aspire Teacher, aspire Rising Star and aspire Community Champion, the last two of which are for sixth-formers.

The second Student Social Mobility Awards took place on Wednesday 27 November 2019 at the House of Lords. It was a fantastic evening of celebration, networking and canapés as we recognised the most outstanding students from across the country. Baroness Helena Kennedy, patron of upReach, kindly hosted the event.

To find out more about the awards ceremony, take a look at our gallery, event programme and winners. To register your interest in next year’s Awards, click here.

upReach are grateful to Bank of America, the Platinum Partner of the 2019 Student Social Mobility Awards, for hosting a Launch Event in June 2019. In the fantastic setting of their Roof Terrace in central London, we heard inspiring speeches from Minister Nadhim Zahawi, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Education, and Bernie Mensah, President of Bank of America (UK & CEEMA). Also pictured are Katy Ingle, Head of Diversity & Inclusion at Bank of America, John Craven, CEO of upReach, Stephanie Lieber, Head of Programmes and Impact at upReach, Reggie Nelson, upReach Mentor and Anthony Harte (far right), SVP ESG at Bank of America.